Mission Statement.

I want to make movies that turn a whore into a virgin… but to do that I have to stay true to the whore. If I make her seem like nothing less or more… then I won’t be turning her at all… merely writing sugary words. Yes, I think all my films will be about innocence. Particularly the innocence that’s hard won, the kind that’s lost and found again.

I want to bring into question this grotesque vision society has that once your innocence is lost it is gone forever. And to truly question that, I have to stay true to that grotesque darkness. To leap into that unknown, into that darkness, with no safety harness, not knowing if I will even survive… until somehow, inevitably, impossibly, I see that that darkness is also the light.

A kind of filmmaking that requires the sacrifice of my own soul. I think innocence is the key… to humanity’s salvation.

~ by revolutionwithin on October 26, 2010.

One Response to “Mission Statement.”

  1. I happened upon your site as I trolled around the internet this morning, putting off more ‘appropriate’ pursuits.

    What a beautiful sentiment – one I needed, which opened my heart to the possibility of serenity and joy today: “…I think innocence is the key… to humanity’s salvation.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
