The Golden Rule…

A few years ago, a friend of mine asked me the question “If you could have two wishes granted by an all-powerful, all good, all knowing genie, what would they be?”

I thought for a few seconds and then answered “I don’t need two wishes. I only need one.”

My friend argued with me briefly that, based on a complex logical analysis, I really did need two wishes, the first of which was to set up the conditions for the second one.

I repeated, “I don’t need two wishes. I only need one.”

He replied, “Okay, what is it?”

“I would wish for what is best.”

He continued to try to find reasons why his analysis was superior to mine. To each of these I replied “Would the results of your wish be better than the results of mine?”

“Yes. And here’s why…”

I patiently explained that the results of his wish could not possibly be better than mine, because I wished only for what was best. By definition, nothing could be better than what is best.

He countered that with “But what if what is best isn’t what is best for me?”

That was a little bit more difficult than the original question of what to wish for in the first place, but I shortly realized the answer wasn’t much more complicated: “Then you should change so that what is best is best for you.”

I believe this is within the reach of each of us, and if we accept the challenge, the world will be a different and better place.

From Link.

Islam: Not one of you truly believes until you wish for others what you wish for yourself. – Prophet Muhammad, Hadith.

Baha’I Faith: Lay not on any soul a load that you would not wish to be laid upon you, and desire not for anyone the things you would not desire for yourself. – Baha’u’llah, Gleanings.

Hinduism: This is the sum of duty: do not do to others what would cause pain if done to you. – Mahabharata 5:517.

Buddhism: Treat not others in ways that you yourself would find hurtful. – Udana-Varga 5.18.

Confucianism: One word which sums up the basis of all conduct… loving kindness. Do not do to others what you do not want done to yourself. – Confucious, Analects 15.23.

Taoism: Regard your neighbour’s gain as your own gain, and your neighbour’s loss as your own loss. – T’ai Shang Kan Ying P’ien, 213-218.

Sikhism: I am a stranger to no one; and no one is a stranger to me. Indeed, I am a friend to all. – Guru Granth Sahib, pg. 1299.

Unitarianism: We affirm and promote respect for the interdependent web of all existence of which we are a part. – Unitarian principle.

Native Spirituality: We are as much alive as we keep the earth alive. – Chief Dan George.

Zorastrianism: Do not do unto others whatever is injurious to yourself. – Shayast-na-Shayast 13.29.

Jainism: One should treat all creatures in the world as one would like to be treated. – Mahavira, Sutrakritanga.

Judaism: What is hateful to you, do not do to your neighbour. This is the whole Torah; all the rest is commentary. – Hillel, Talmud, Shabbat 31a.

Christianity: In everything, do to others as you would have them do to you; for this is the law and the prophets. – Jesus, Matthew 7.12.

And we are back… once again – to Collective Consciousness; Holographic Universe Theory –

THE LAW OF ONE
We are all one.
When one is harmed, all are harmed.
When one is helped, all are healed. – Ra.

~ by revolutionwithin on November 10, 2009.

One Response to “The Golden Rule…”

  1. That’s a prfound thought. How many times do I choose what is best for me with no regard to what is best for those around me?

Leave a Reply

 
