Indian Film Favourites


The 1980s marked the peak for filmmakers Barathiraja, K Balachandar, K Bhagyaraja, Singeetham Srinivasa Rao and Balu Mahendra who established the uniqueness of Modern Tamil Cinema. At the end of the 80s, Mani Ratnam entered the arena with a freshness in style and perspective.

During the 1990s, S Shankar, Suresh Krishna, K.S Ravikumar, Bharathan, P Vasu, Udhaya Kumar and Agathyan made their mark, although the phenomenal influence of the 80s was obvious, these filmmakers worked more to enhance the technicality of filmmaking. The older filmmakers, despite their legacy and might of storytelling, seemed to have lost their touch. Yet it was Mani Ratnam that took tamil films into the new Millenium.

In the following decade, Kamal Hassan made a reckoning directorial debut, quickly followed by a new breed of filmmakers – Gautham Menon, Bala, Ameer Sultan, K Selvaraghavan, Cheran, S J Suryah, Sasi Shankar, N Linguswamy, Hari, Balaji Shaktivel, Dharani, A R Murugadoss, Radha Mohan, Myshkin, Vishnuvardhan and Vetrimaran. The new breed had split into two dominant kinds of filmmaking – one, the rough, raw emotional grit… and two, the “against-all-odds” entertainer. The identity of the Tamilian seems to be in a state of confusion, grappling between tradition and modernism. Ever since Bala made the tragic ending fashionable, filmmakers compete now for the most pessimistic tragedy they can manufacture, seemingly more for style than substance.

The decade is now at an end… and we stand at the outskirts of a new revolution.

24/03/2010, As a recent update on the evolution of Tamil Cinema, read this wonderful appreciation letter from K Balachander to Gautham Menon here.

One of the few good things left about film is this passion… that sometimes seems to reveal itself only ever so rarely.

Otherwise, it gets mostly mixed up in anecdotes and referential humor. But Balachandar, he sums it up beautifully. In the end, the only lasting or powerful effects of film making come out of an intrinsic sense of belief – way past the hypocrisy that has vomited all over it – a sense of belief in the power of the story that is worthwhile enough… even if it appears once in a blue blue moon.

All the great personalities of the past that we remember to this day… people who existed millenia ago. It is their strength that lived on – a strength of belief (in right or wrong)… in the same way, despite that the film industry is raping itself for the most part, and is largely superficial… underneath all that vomit… there are still a few … very few… people who believe – in themselves, in life. This is also what Balachandar was talking about. Think about it.

Still, it is as quickly buried under confused reviews and our own outrage often enough… but it doesn’t fail to affect those who had just… a little… bit of faith.

All hope is never lost. 🙂 Walk your own path! Create your niche! But you have to do it for more than just fame… fame also dies with you – as history reveals. Only your belief lives on.


A Jagannathan for Thangamagan (1983)

A P Nagarajan for Thillana Mohanambal (1968)

A R Murugadoss for Ghajini (2005)

Agathyan for Kaadhal Kavidhai (1998)

Ameer Sultan for Mounam Pesiyadhe (2002)

Bala for Nandha (2001)

B Ramakrishnaiah Panthulu for Karnan (1963)

Balaji Shaktivel for Kaadhal (2004)

Balu Mahendra for Moondram Pirai (1982)

Bharathan for Thevar Magan (1992)

Bharathiraja for Mudhal Mariyathai (1985)

Cheran for Thavamai Thavamirunthu (2005)

D P Singapuli for Mayavi (2005)

Dharani for Ghilli (2004)

G N Rangarajan for Meendum Kokila (1981)

Gautham Mennon for Kaakha Kaakha (2003)

Gayatri-Pushkar for Oram Po (2007)

Hari for Saamy (2003)

J Mahendran for Johnny (1979)

John Mahendran for Sachein (2005)

K Balachandar for Sindhu Bhairavi (1985)

K Bhagyaraja for Chinna Veedu (1985)

K Nataraj for Anbulla Rajanikant (1984)

K Rangaraj for Naan Paadum Paadal (1984)

K S Prakash Rao for Vasantha Maligai (1972)

K S Ravikumar for Padaiyappa (1999)

K Selvaraghavan for Puthu Pettai (2006)

K Vishwanath for Salangai Oli (1983)

Kamal Hassan for Hai Ram (2000)

M Raja for Santhosh Subramaniyam (2008)

Mani Ratnam for Nayakan (1987)

Muktha V Srinivasan for Simla Special (1982)

Myshkin for Chithiram Pesuthadi (2006)

N Linguswamy for Run (2002)

Nishikant Kamat for Evano Oruvan (2007)

P Vasu for Mannan (1992)

R V Udhaya Kumar for Yejaman (1993)

Radha Mohan for Mozhi (2007)

Rajasekar for Maa Veeran (1986)

S P Muthuraman for Enakul Oruvan (1984)

S J Suryah for Ah Aah: Anbe Aruyire (2005)

S Shankar for Mudhalvan (1999)

Samuthirakani for Naadodigal (2009)

Santhana Bharathi for Vietnam Colony (1994)

Sasi Shankar for Perazhagan (2004)

Seeman for Thambi (2005)

Selva for Pooveli (1998)

Singeetham Srinivasa Rao for Michael Madana Kamarajan (1991)

Suresh Krishna for Annamalai (1992)

Tarun Gopi for Thimiru (2006)

Vetrimaran for Polladhavan (2007)

Vietnam Veetu Sundaram for Gauravam (1973)

Vikraman for Vaanathai Pole (2000)

Vishnuvardhan for Billa (2007)


1. Singeetham Srinivasa Rao – Raja Parvai (1981), Pushpak (1988), Apoorva Sahodarargal (1989), Michael Madana Kamarajan (1991), Magalir Mattum (1994), Kadhala Kadhala (1998).

2. S.P. Muthuraman – Priya (1978), Murattu Kaalai (1980), Netri Kann (1981), Pokkiri Raja (1982), Thoongathey Thambi Thoongathey (1983), Payum Puli (1983), Nallavanukku Nallavan (1984), Enakul Oruvan (1984), Sree Raghavendar (1985), Mr. Bharath (1986), Guru Sisyan (1988).

3. Mani Ratnam – Mouna Ragam (1986), Nayakan (1987), Agni Nakshatram (1988), Idhayathai Thirudathe (1989), Anjali (1990), Thalapathi (1991), Roja (1992), Thiruda Thiruda (1993), Bombay (1995), Iruvar (1997), Uyire (1998), Alai Payuthe (2000), Kannathil Muthamittal (2002), Ayitha Ezhuthu (2004), Guru (2007).

4. K. Balachandar – Apoorva Rahangal (1975), Moondru Mudichu (1976), Manmatha Leelai (1976), Avargal (1977), Ninaithale Innikum (1979), Ek Duje Ke Liye (1981), Sindhu Bhairavi (1985), Punnagai Mannan (1986), Unnai Mudiyum Thambi (1988).

5. K. Bhagyaraja – Mouna Geethangal (1981), Indru Poi Naalai Vaa (1981), Antha Ezhu Natkal (1981), Darling Darling Darling (1982), Dhavani Kanavugal (1983), Munthanai Mudichu (1984), Chinna Veedu (1985), Enga Chinna Rasa (1987), Avasara Police 100 (1990).

6. Bharathiraja – Pathinaru Vayathinile (1977), Niram Maaratha Pookal (1979), Nizhalgal (1980), Tik Tik Tik (1981), Kadhal Oviyam (1982), Pudumai Penn (1983), Oru Kaithiyin Diary (1984), Mudhal Mariyathai (1985), Kodi Parakuthu (1989).

7. S Shankar – Gentlemen (1993), Kadhalan (1994), Indian (1996), Jeans (1998), Mudhalvan (1999), Boys (2003), Anniyan (2005), Sivaji (2007).

8. K S Ravikumar – Muthu (1995), Avai Shanmughi (1996), Kondattam (1998), Padayappa (1999), Thenali (2000)

9. Gautham Menon –  Minnale (2001), Kaaka Kaaka (2003), Vettaiyadu Villaiyadu (2006), Pachaikili Muthucharam (2007), Vaaranam Aayiram (2008), Vinnaithaandi Varuvaayaa (2010)

Tamil All Time Box Office Reports Here.

~ by revolutionwithin on October 17, 2009.

One Response to “Indian Film Favourites”

  1. I highly enjoyed reading your blogpost, keep on creating such interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: